K - 3 Learning Pages:
Resources for Kindergarten to Grade 3 teachers

 List Serve - Web Resources

Social - Dog Sledding

Dogs at Enchanted Learning - http://www.enchantedlearning.com/themes/dog.shtml If your class become enamored with dogs, there are lots of extension ideas here; dog label diagram with parts; early reader; species.

Yukon Quest: http://www.yukonquest.com/ This is a great site to follow for our Canadian dog sled. Kids can get to know the mushers and be part of the action with video streaming

Education World - http://www.education-world.com/a_lesson/lesson103.shtml Lessons for Iditarod

Everything Husky - http://www.everythinghusky.com/index.html Everything on mushing and dogs.

National Geograhpic: Sled Dogs - Life Below Zero - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nj1p02iE0t4 4 min

Iditarod - http://www.iditarod.com/ Alaska's dog sled race; 1150 miles, begins March 4th; teacher resources.

YouTube: What Your Kids Can Learn from Sled Dogs - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dDDELyZb9r8 The owner of a sled dog shares a family experience in Canmore - 3 min

YouTube: Mushing Explained: What do sled dogs eat? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0kY96lNLq7g 2 min experience of feeding these racing dogs - why and what

Good Sites for Kids: Iditarod - http://www.goodsitesforkids.org/Iditarod.htm lots of links

Pinterest: Sled Dogs - https://www.pinterest.ca/debjoea/sled-dogs/ over 1000 pins

Preschool & Kindergarten Activities for the Iditarold - https://iditarod.com/edu/preschool-and-kindergarten-activities/ lots of lesson plans and games