K - 3 Learning Pages:
Resources for Kindergarten to Grade 3 teachers

 List Serve - Web Resources

Space - Sun


 

YouTube: NASA: Sun for Kids - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uK4a7kWb6Ro 6.5 min. Excellent!

A to Z Teacher Stuff - http://www.atozteacherstuff.com/Themes/Shadows___Light/index.shtml Light and shadows lessons

BBC: Earth, Sun and Moon - http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/scienceclips/ages/9_10/earth_sun_moon.shtml animation

BBC: Light and Shadow - http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/scienceclips/ages/7_8/light_shadows.shtml animation

Blinding Light: A Guide to the Sun - http://www.blindschalet.com/kba-blinding-light-a-guide-to-the-sun-234.html A commercial site, but a great summary page for information about the sun.

Complete Sun and Moon Data for One Day - http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/docs/RS_OneDay.html You can get sunrise and sunset times for any date.

Enchanted Learning: Astronomy Sun - http://www.enchantedlearning.com/subjects/astronomy/sun/weblinks.shtml  extension activities

Examine the Sun - http://www.classzone.com/books/earth_science/terc/content/visualizations/es2601/es2601page01.cfm?chapter_no=26 This site is so cool! You can get images of the sun through different wavelengths.

National Geographic: The Sun - https://www.nationalgeographic.com/science/space/solar-system/the-sun/ for research

Kids Health: Sun Safety - http://kidshealth.org/parent/firstaid_safe/outdoor/sun_safety.html Guidelines

Light and Dark - http://www.anticz.com/drawing1.htm Drawing shadows

Sun Facts: https://space-facts.com/the-sun/ shorter article with images

NAEYC: What is a Shadow - https://www.naeyc.org/resources/blog/what-shadow great activities

Nine Planets: Sun - http://www.nineplanets.org/sol.html Brief research summary, photos, links

SOHO (Solar and Heliospheric Observatory) - http://sohowww.nascom.nasa.gov/ Excellent research source; beautiful images. Check out the classroom link for tons of information.

Solar Views - http://www.solarviews.com/eng/sun.htm Some great multimedia here; photos, clips

Pinterest: Sun Classroom Ideas -https://www.pinterest.ca/dwelc/sun-classroom-theme/ 75 pins